phone symbol

01228 529067

Stainmore 1904

Old Ordnance Survey Maps of Cumberland


These maps normally cover an area of about 18 miles by 12 miles and are especially good at showing railways, roads and canals, and at giving a broad view of a wider area. Each includes an introduction and a more detailed map of a small town or village.

This One Inch to the Mile map covers the area around Brough, including Middleton-in-Teesdale, Warcop, Lune Forest and Stainmore. Much of this is fell country, and the map shows Bowes Moor, Cotherstone Moor, Mickleton Moor, Hunderthwaite Moor, Lune Moor, Cronkley Fell, Holwick Fell, Warcop Fell, Hilton Fell, Murton Fell, Dufton Fell. The Darlington & Tebay railway is shown, together with a small section of the Eden Valley Branch and the Middleton branch. On the reverse we include a detailed map of Brough itself, including Market Brough, Church Brough, and the castle site.Plus , Brough Sowerby, Great Musgrave, Great Ormside, Kaber, Murton, Soulby, Stainmore, Warcop, Winton



Publication Date:

2006 June