phone symbol

01228 529067

Walking the Lake District Fells – Borrowdale

Scafell Pike, Catbells, Great Gable and the Derwentwater fells

Mark Richards


This guide describes ascents of 28 Lake District fells that can be climbed from Borrowdale and the Newlands and Thirlmere valleys, including Catbells, a perennial favourite, and the mighty Scafell Pike, Great End and Great Gable. Easily accessed from Keswick, Borrowdale is a valley of exquisite natural beauty, with the lower wooded and heather-clad slopes giving way to sweeping moors and craggy heights. With such great variety within so small a vicinity, the fellwalker is spoilt for choice.

Unlike other guidebooks which describe a single or limited number of routes to a particular destination, the aim of the Walking the Lake District Fells series is to offer all the options. These are presented as numbered sections which can be combined to create infinite possibilities – from simple ascents to longer ridge routes. You’ll find the classics and popular routes alongside less traditional alternatives perfect for the wandering spirit.

The series gives you both the freedom to devise your own routes and the information to make informed decisions, thanks to the clear descriptions of the routes, terrain, hazards, interesting features and safe descent paths should the weather close in. Also included are a handful of classic ridge routes for longer fell days. Mark Richards’ inimitable text is complemented by HARVEY mapping and the author’s own beautiful sketch topos and panoramas.

Perfect for keen hillwalkers and peak-baggers alike and ideal both for pre-planning and use on the hill, Walking the Lake District Fells is the new incarnation of the Fellranger series, which sees the volumes updated and trimmed to a more practical size. These true connoisseurs’ guides are sure to inspire you to get out and explore the beautiful fells of Lakeland. For those collecting fell summits, a ‘Fellrangers’ hill list register can be found on the Long Distance Walkers Association website.





Publication Date:

2021 March


Paperback; 172 x 116mm




33 maps, 3 summit panoramas, 50 topos and over 100 colour photos

You may also like…

  • Walking the Lake District Fells – Buttermere

    High Stile, Grasmoor, Grisedale Pike and Haystacks

  • Walking the Lake District Fells – Patterdale

    Helvellyn, Fairfield and the East

  • Walking the Lake District Fells – Langdale

    The Langdale Pikes and Bowfell