phone symbol

01228 529067

Walking the Lake District Fells – Patterdale

Helvellyn, Fairfield and the East

Mark Richards


This guide describes ascents of 35 Lake District fells that can be climbed from Patterdale, Ambleside and the Grasmere, Thirlmere and Ullswater valleys. The area is home to some of Lakeland’s most celebrated peaks – including the mighty Helvellyn, commanding over the classic arete scrambles of Striding Edge and Swirral Edge – with many summits connected by airy ridges affording great views and highly pleasurable walking. Unlike other guidebooks which describe a single or limited number of routes to a particular destination, the aim of the Walking the Lake District Fells series is to offer all the options.

Also included are a handful of classic ridge routes for longer fell days. Mark Richards’ inimitable text is complemented by HARVEY mapping and the author’s own beautiful sketch topos and panoramas. Perfect for keen hillwalkers and peak-baggers alike and ideal both for pre-planning and use on the hill, Walking the Lake District Fells is the new incarnation of the Fellranger series, which sees the volumes updated and trimmed to a more practical size.





Publication Date:

2020 March






41 maps, 3 summit panoramas, 39 topos and over 120 colour photos